Movies for the new Depression (contd.)

Following my earlier post, The Independent today offers its choice of the top 20 feelgood films. I’m particularly happy to see Powell and Pressburger’s I Know Where I’m Going; I’d also  have added my favourite film, their brilliant A Matter of Life and Death, which Fred mentioned just the other day. Here’s the unforgettable opening sequence:

Sadly Kathleen Byron, who will be best remembered as the beautiful, desire-crazed Sister Ruth in Black Narcissus, but also plays an angel in AMOLAD, died just this morning. To quote one of the best lines from the movie: “After all, what is time? A mere tyranny.”

Leave a Reply

